Community Electric Cooperative’s 84th annual meeting was held in person and streamed on Facebook Live due to ongoing concerns about the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Due to continued safety concerns regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s annual meeting, much like last year, has been modified,” Board Chair Jeannette S. Everett said as she welcomed viewers, staffers and a handful of members to the meeting at 7 p.m. on Aug. 9.

“Once again, rather than hosting a large gathering of members, hearing multiple oral reports and providing entertainment, the board has decided to adjust the meeting agenda, only conducting the necessary business of the cooperative. With that being said, the purpose of tonight’s meeting is only to approve the minutes from last year’s annual meeting and to facilitate director elections. All other business will be deferred to another date.”

William Holt, attorney for the cooperative, oversaw the election portion of the meeting. Reelected to three-year terms were Jason B. Carr, representing the city of Suffolk; Diana F. Beale, representing Isle of Wight County; and Jeannette S. Everett, representing Southampton County.

Community Electric President and CEO Steven A. Harmon said he hopes the cooperative will be able to return to a more traditional annual meeting in 2023.

—Report by Gregg MacDonald, Senior Writer/Editor, Cooperative Living