Electric Cooperatives Association Elects Officers

The Board of Directors of The Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives (VMDAEC) has a new leadership team.

Serving as chairman of the VMDAEC board for 2019-2020 is Fletcher B. “Bob” Jones, an insurance agent from Boydton, Va. who serves on the board of Chase City, Va.-based Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative.

Pat Dorey, a retired college administrator and academic counselor who represents Delaware Electric Cooperative, was elected as the VMDAEC board’s vice chairman.

The new secretary/treasurer is Russell G. “Rusty” Brown, a director at Northern Neck Electric Cooperative in Warsaw. Brown is a banker with Union Bank & Trust in the Northern Neck and also a director at CoBank, the cooperative lender.

The leaders were elected during the July 29 business meeting at the Williamsburg Lodge held in conjunction with the 75th Annual VMDAEC Meeting.

“Each of these officers also serves on the board of their local electric cooperative and on one or more of the Association’s 10 committees,” said Richard G. Johnstone, VMDAEC president and CEO. “We truly depend upon their commitment to provide input on how to expand and improve the services we provide our member cooperatives.”


Headquartered in Glen Allen, Va., the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives provides safety and training, communications and legislative services to 15 electric cooperatives serving the three-state Mid-Atlantic region. For more information on VMDAEC and the lineman’s rodeo, visit www.vmdaec.com or www.co-opliving.com.

From left, Chairman Fletcher “Bob” Jones, Vice Chairman Pat Dorey and Secretary/Treasurer Rusty Brown.

From left: Russell G. “Rusty” Brown, Secretary/Treasurer, Pat Dorey, Vice Chairman, Richard G. Johnstone, VMDAEC President and CEO and Fletcher B. “Bob” Jones, Chairman.